Award Winners 2019



On 10 September 2019, the members of the Scientific Advisory Council of the Phospholipid Research Center awarded two researchers the Thudichum Young Scientist Award.

Dr. Philipp Uhl (Heidelberg University Hospital, Heidelberg, Germany) was honored for his outstanding publications on pharmaceutical phospholipid research related to cell penetrating liposomes enabling oral delivery of peptide drugs.

Dr. Dominik Witzigmann (NanoMedicines Research Group, UBC Vancouver; Canada) received the award for his outstanding publications in pharmaceutical phospholipid research related to the zebrafish model for assessing the body distribution of nanoparticles and RNA delivery by means of lipidic particles.

The Thudichum Young Scientist Award, which came with a € 2,500 prize for each winner, was presented by the first winner of the Thudichum Life Award in 2017, Prof. Daan Crommelin (Utrecht University, The Netherlands).

The Winners of Thudichum Young Scientist Award 2019: Dr. Dominik Witzigmann (L) and Dr. Philipp Uhl (R) with Prof. Daan Crommelin.


The Thudichum Life Award was awarded for the second time. Dr. Herbert Rebmann (Honorary President of the Phospholipid Research Center) congratulated Prof. Yechezkel (Chezy) Barenholz for his lifelong outstanding achievements in the field of phospholipid research.

Prof. Barenholz is famous for the development of one of the first liposome products with targeted drug delivery properties (Doxil®). In addition, he has an outstanding record of accomplishments in the fields of biophysics and biochemistry, particularly with the analysis, synthesis etc. of phospholipids and related dosage forms. Barenholz has set an example for future generations of phospholipid researchers.

Prof. Dr. Yechezkel (Chezy) Barenholz (R) honored with the 2019 Thudichum Life Award by Dr. Herbert Rebmann (L), Honorary President of the Phospholipid Research Center.


The jury for the Life Award consists of members from the Scientific Advisory Council and the Board of the PRC; the jury for the Young Scientist Award consists of members from the Scientific Advisory Council.

The Board
Prof. Alfred Blume
Prof. Christel Müller-Goymann
PD Dr. Peter van Hoogevest

Scientific Advisory Council 2019
Prof. Alfred Blume
Prof. Gert Fricker
Prof. Andreas Koeberle
Prof. Judith Kuntsche
Prof. Paola Luciani
Dr. Frank Martin
Prof. Christel Müller-Goymann
Dr. Ralf-Olaf Quinkert
Prof. Gert Storm