Award Winners 2017



The ″Thudichum Young Scientist Award″ was conferred on September 18, 2017 for the second time. The award was given to Dr. Tom van Rooij from the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Cardiology, Erasmus MC, Rotterdam, The Netherlands for his excellent publication on “Ultrasound contrast agents for imaging and therapy.” Van Rooij examined the in vitro characterization of the ultrasound signal from single microbubbles with specific lipid compositions and the effect of these microbubbles on human endothelial cells using ultra-high-speed microscopy.

Dr. Tom van Rooij


Prof. Daan Crommelin from Utrecht University, The Netherlands was the first winner of the Thudichum Life Award. He was honored for his outstanding lifelong contributions related to the characterization and uses of phospholipids in pharmaceutical science.

Prof. Daan Crommelin (L) Winner of the 2017 Thudichum Life Award with Dr. Herbert Rebmann (R), Honorary President of the Phospholipid Research Center and Prof. Alfred Blume President of the Phospholipid Research Center


The jury for the Life Award consists of members from the Scientific Advisory Council and the Board of the PRC; the jury for the Young Scientist Award consists of members from the Scientific Advisory Council.

The Board
Prof. Alfred Blume
Prof. Christel Müller-Goymann
PD Dr. Peter van Hoogevest

Scientific Advisory Council
Prof. Alfred Blume
Prof. Gert Fricker
Dr. Frank Martin
Prof. Christel Müller-Goymann
Prof. Gert Storm